This guide describes DRBD version 8.4 and above. For 8.3 please look here.


17.4. The quick-sync bitmap

The quick-sync bitmap is the internal data structure which DRBD uses, on a per-resource basis, to keep track of blocks being in sync (identical on both nodes) or out-of sync. It is only relevant when a resource is in disconnected mode.

In the quick-sync bitmap, one bit represents a 4-KiB chunk of on-disk data. If the bit is cleared, it means that the corresponding block is still in sync with the peer node. That implies that the block has not been written to since the time of disconnection. Conversely, if the bit is set, it means that the block has been modified and needs to be re-synchronized whenever the connection becomes available again.

As DRBD detects write I/O on a disconnected device, and hence starts setting bits in the quick-sync bitmap, it does so in RAM — thus avoiding expensive synchronous metadata I/O operations. Only when the corresponding blocks turn cold (that is, expire from the Activity Log), DRBD makes the appropriate modifications in an on-disk representation of the quick-sync bitmap. Likewise, if the resource happens to be manually shut down on the remaining node while disconnected, DRBD flushes the complete quick-sync bitmap out to persistent storage.

When the peer node recovers or the connection is re-established, DRBD combines the bitmap information from both nodes to determine the total data set that it must re-synchronize. Simultaneously, DRBD examines the generation identifiers to determine the direction of synchronization.

The node acting as the synchronization source then transmits the agreed-upon blocks to the peer node, clearing sync bits in the bitmap as the synchronization target acknowledges the modifications. If the re-synchronization is now interrupted (by another network outage, for example) and subsequently resumed it will continue where it left off — with any additional blocks modified in the meantime being added to the re-synchronization data set, of course.

[Note]Note

Re-synchronization may be also be paused and resumed manually with the drbdadm pause-sync and drbdadm resume-sync commands. You should, however, not do so light-heartedly — interrupting re-synchronization leaves your secondary node’s disk Inconsistent longer than necessary.


This guide describes DRBD version 8.4 and above. For 8.3 please look here.